Opening Hours

House, galleries, café and shop:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 11am – 5pm
Thursday: 11am – 5pm
Friday: 11am – 5pm
Saturday: 11am – 5pm
Sunday: 11am – 5pm

Access Information & Contact Us

Find access information here. 

+44 (0)1223 748 100


Kettle’s Yard News

Be the first to hear our latest news by signing up to our mailing list.

For our latest blogs click here

Find out What’s On at Kettle’s Yard here.

12 March 2020, 8pm (doors at 7.30pm)

“I have no doubt that the future of Classical Music is safe in their hands” The Yorkshire Times, Elaine Annable

John Luther Adams is an American counter-cultural hero. In the 1970s he dropped out of mainstream Californian life and vanished into the Alaskan wilderness, but in 2014 his originality was finally acknowledged when he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Music. Cassandra Miller’s Warblework contains dreamy transcriptions of Canadian birdsong and Kaare Husby’s 2nd String Quartet is a beautiful cacophony of avian melodies. But is that really Bartok in a concert of ‘new music’? All will be revealed…

£12 (£5 full time students), booking recommended

Click here to book now


Cassandra Miller, Warblework (16′)

John Luther Adams, The Wind in High Places (19′)

Bartok, String Quartet No. 4 (3rd movement) (6′)

Kaare Husby, String Quartet No. 2 (10′)

John Luther Adams, Dreams of the Canyon Wren (8′)

About Solem Quartet

The Solem Quartet has established itself as one of the most innovative and adventurous quartets of its generation.

Since winning the 2014 Royal Over-Seas League Ensemble Competition they have enjoyed a busy concert schedule, ranging from international tours to performances at venues such as London’s Wigmore and Queen Elizabeth Halls, Bridgewater Hall in Manchester and Oxford’s Holywell Music Room. Alongside this, their groundbreaking series ‘Solem Lates’ has seen the Quartet rise to prominence as leading exponents of new music, working closely with living composers in pioneering multimedia performances.

The 2020-2021 season will see the launch of their Bartók and Beethoven Cycle, in which they will perform all six of Bartók’s string quartets from memory alongside Beethoven’s late quartets. The Cycle will also include six brand new works, bringing their total number of commissions and premieres to sixteen.

The Solem Quartet has benefited from inspirational teaching from a number of the world’s greatest chamber musicians, as well as attending IMS Prussia Cove and the European Chamber Music. In 2016-17 they were selected as both Tunnell Trust Artists and Park Lane Group Artists.

The Quartet takes great pride in its educational work. From 2015-17 they held the Junior Fellowship in Chamber Music at the Royal Northern College of Music and since 2016 they have been Quartet in Residence at the University of Liverpool. They are also Ensemble in Residence at Aberystwyth MusicFest.

Originally formed at the University of Manchester in 2011, the Solem Quartet takes its name from the university’s motto arduus ad solem – ‘striving towards the sun’.